Young People's Comic Awards


Below you can find the shortlist for this year’s Thought Bubble Young People’s Comic Awards. We are looking for the best new comics and graphic novels aimed at a young audience. This award is run in partnership with Leeds Library and Information Service. The British Comic Awards are sadly not taking place in 2017, but we really wanted the Young People’s Award to go ahead so that all the reading groups who get involved each year can discover a whole load of amazing new comics!

2017’s Award Shortlist:

The Legend of La Mariposa, by James Lawrence (self-published);

Hilda and the Stone Forest, by Luke Pearson (published by Nobrow Press);

Good Dog, Bad Dog, by Dave Shelton (published by David Fickling Books); 

Bunny vs Monkey book 4, by Jamie Smart (published by David Fickling Books);

Arthur and the Golden Rope, by Joe Todd-Stanton (published by Nobrow Press)


Our Committee this year, selecting the titles for the shortlist, included:


Abby Bulmer – Cartoonist, illustrator and Travelling Man employee @abbyryder

Nadia Shireen – Children’s book illustrator, writer and journalist @nadiashireen

David Monteith – Actor, Tutor, Director and co-founder of Geek Syndicate @davidmonteith

Tom Oldham – Co-founder of Breakdown Press and Events Manager at Gosh! @trenchtorso

Woodrow Phoenix – Comic book artist and writer, illustrator, author of children’s books @mrphoenix

The nominated titles are then sent out to participating schools and public library reading groups and are read, discussed and voted for by young people. Most of the schools are based in and around Leeds although schools nationwide take part too.

The Thought Bubble Young People’s Comic Award is managed by Clark Burscough, Martha Julian and Bess Martin (Thought Bubble), and Debbie Moody (Leeds Library).

The winners will be announced in December 2017.